Detail Map
About PRTCThe Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission (PRTC) is a multi-jurisdictional agency representing Prince William, Stafford and Spotsylvania Counties and the Cities of Manassas, Manassas Park and Fredericksburg. Located in Virginia about 25 miles southwest of Washington, D.C., PRTC provides commuter bus service along the busy I-95 and I-66 corridors to points north (OmniRide & Metro Direct), and local bus services in Prince William County and the cities of Manassas and Manassas Park (OmniLink & Cross County Connector). PRTC also offers OmniMatch, a free ridesharing service. Operated by PRTC in partnership with the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC), the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) provides commuter rail service along the Manassas and Fredericksburg lines, connecting to transit providers at stations in Virginia and the District of Columbia.  Click here for a historical perspective of VRE.Virginia law authorizes the creation of transportation districts to facilitate regional transportation solutions to problems that transcend individual localities’ borders. With that aim, PRTC was established in 1986 to help create and oversee the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) commuter rail service and also to assume responsibility for bus service implementation as its member governments saw fit.PRTC’s service area is diverse and dynamic, with about 16 percent of its residents residing in their home for one year or less according to a 2012 estimate from the U.S. Census Bureau. The agency’s goal is to provide safe, reliable and flexible transportation options while helping to reduce area congestion and pollution in one of the region's fastest growing areas. In FY 2013, PRTC had more than 135 buses in its active fleet carrying nearly 3.2 million passengers, and another 705,000 people rode in PRTC-affiliated carpools and vanpools. In addition, VRE carried more than 4.6 million passengers in FY 2013. PRTC has developed a Strategic Plan that provides for measured service growth and is responsive to the needs of the community.17 commissioners comprise the PRTC Board of Commissioners. Thirteen are locally elected officials from its six member jurisdictions: City of Fredericksburg (1), City of Manassas (1), City of Manassas Park (1), Prince William County (6), Stafford County (2), and Spotsylvania County (2). Three of the commissioners are appointed from the General Assembly (one Senator and two Delegates). The other commissioner represents the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation (VDRPT).Membership in PRTC allows for the collection of a 2.1% Motor Fuels Tax which is used for transportation improvements in the region. PRTC focuses on transportation planning and operating initiatives with its bus, rail, and ridematching services, as well as transportation planning studies, capital project management, policy analysis, and regional coordination.PRTC’s member jurisdictions rely on the 2.1% Motor Fuels Tax to meet their respective local subsidy obligations.  In addition, Prince William County has occasionally used general fund appropriations to a small degree when necessary as a supplement.  Other funding sources include passenger fares and federal and state monies.  Stafford County, Spotsylvania County and the City of Fredericksburg confine their PRTC service sponsorship to VRE, while Prince William County and the Cities of Manassas and Manassas Park sponsor both PRTC bus services and VRE.For assistance with any of these services, click on any of the links above or call PRTC's Customer Service department at (703) 730-6664, Monday - Friday from 5:30AM - 8:30PM or email 
© 2020 - MARCOA Media