Driver's License

Last Updated :

Ft Jackson_2019 arrival Driver's License


Military personnel and their family members are not required to obtain a South Carolina driver’s license or license plates as long as they have valid ones from other states. Expiration of a service member’s driver’s license varies according to its state of origin. Upon arrival in South Carolina, motorists should contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles to determine the laws governing current licenses. If a person does not have a valid driver’s license, he or she must pass a written examination and a road test ($2 test fee) within 90 days of arrival. The driver’s license fee is $12.50. A learner’s permit ($2.50 fee) may be issued at the age of 15 and an unrestricted license at the age of 16. One of the nearest DMVs to the post is at 1630 Shop Road, Columbia, SC 29202. Call 803-737-8350 for further information or log on to


© 2020 - MARCOA Media