Getting To & Around
Updated On: 1/29/2013 3:51:19 PM
Brevard County Florida’s Space Coast are located on central Florida’s east coast and are connected to other parts of the state and the rest of the United States via several well maintained, easily accessed roadways. For those flying in, there are two airports in proximity to Brevard County, serving the area with both major air carriers and smaller commuter airlines. Brevard County also has a public transportation system that provides extensive coverage throughout the area. read more...
Melbourne International Airport
One Air Terminal Parkway
Melbourne, FL 32901 ............... (321) 723-6227
Melbourne International Airport serves East Central Florida. Its 200,000-square-foot terminal is designed to handle 2 million passengers annually with three runways, seven jet ways and eight gates. The airport is 25 miles from Port Canaveral, 48 miles from Kennedy Space Center, 20 miles from Cocoa Beach and 65 southeast of Orlando.
Orlando International Airport
1 Airport Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32827 ................... (407) 851-6400
This major airport serves 96,800 passengers daily with non-stop service to 89 U.S. destinations as well as 27 international destinations through 43 airlines. Orlando International boasts four parallel runways and 96 jet gates. It is 42 miles from Port Canaveral, 54 miles from Kennedy Space Center, 46 miles from Cocoa Beach and 12 miles from Orlando.
Area Transit ..............................(321) 633-1878
The Space Coast Area Transit operates public transportation throughout Brevard County. Fixed routes operate on a set schedule at designated stops, providing extensive coverage throughout cities within the county. Major shopping centers, government facilities, area colleges and hospitals are served by Space Coast Area Transit with weekend and evening service available in select locations.
The agency also operates trolley services from Port Canaveral to Cocoa Beach. The trolley offers no charge transfers to fixed-route bus service.
DRIVING AND COMMUTING
Interstate 95 — running from Maine to Miami — runs directly through Brevard County giving residents the convenience of access to the most heavily traveled north-south interstate on the East Coast. Western access is provided by SR-528 — known by locals as the Beach line Expressway — as it links to major Florida highways such as Interstate 4 and the Florida Turnpike.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
“Providing highway safety and security through excellence in service, education and enforcement” is the mission of the DHSMV. To that end, new residents can obtain driver’s licenses, identification cards, vehicle registration and numerous other services. Find many of the required forms and general information at www._ hsmv.gov.
Seat Belt Enforcement
Legislators passed Florida’s Primary Safety Belt Law in June 2009. An officer can stop a motor vehicle if people riding in the front seat or passengers younger than 18 years old fail to buckle up. Violators will be issued tickets. And, under the Child Restraint Law, a driver can be stopped and cited if a child younger than 4 years-old is not in a child seat.
State Driver’s License
Florida law requires identification, proof of date of birth, proof of residential address, and proof of Social Security number from all customers before a driver license or identification card can be issued. The name assigned to the Social Security number must match the name that will appear on the Florida driver license or identification card. If you have recently changed your name, update your records with the Social Security Administration before you apply for your license or identification card.
See http://gathergoget.com/checklist/checklist.aspx to view a complete list of acceptable documents. Although out-of-state licenses or IDs are not accepted as primary identification, they are accepted to reciprocate for driver license exams. You will not be required to take the exams again, unless special conditions prevail, for example if the driver demonstrates something that indicates they may not be able to safely drive a vehicle. Every person who visits a driver license office will have to take the vision test; other testing may be applicable.
In order to register your vehicle in Florida, you must provide proof of ownership and proof of insurance to a tax collector’s office located in Driver License and Motor Vehicle Service Centers.